top of page

Awaken Your Chakras


Chakras are energy centers in our subtle body through which our life energy flows. These are located along the spine and represent a connection point between the subtle (prana / life force) and the gross (our physical body). They are connected to specific body regions, organs and glands and have a direct relationship to our emotional, mental and physical condition. The chakras are related to all aspects of our lives. The vibrational level of each Chakra together with the throughout flow of the vital energy relates with the glands of the endocrine system in the body. 


Disturbances in the subtle energy of the chakras translate into physical manifestation and symptoms who are likely associated with the corresponding glands and organs. It is not to say that chakras are physical or physiological in nature. They are considered as energy centers that influence our being at many levels, including the physical and biological levels.

Whenever one of our energy centers is thrown off balance by a blockage, physical maladies can happen. It is important to remember that chakras function on the same principle as a pendulum. If one of them is underactive or overactive, signs will start to manifest that it’s “out of rhythm”. Chakra balancing is in order.

The disturbance is felt either at the level of that specific or the level of another chakra or set of chakras connected to it. For instance, when the throat chakra is blocked you may experience sore throat, neck pain, or laryngitis. Similarly, when the heart chakra is out-of-sorts, high blood pressure and heart-related problems can arise.

the 7 Major Chakras

1. Root_chakra.jpg

The root chakra or Muladhara is the first and primary chakra, located at the base of your spine. It affects how you connect to the world and to control feelings of survival, ambition, dependency, and stability. The Root Chakra is associated with the reproductive glands. As the primary source of energy, its unbalance can lead to feelings of deep fear and insecurity that hurt your drive to succeed, causing feelings of frustration and lack of purpose. When the root chakra is balanced, it is thought to create feelings of security, positivity, energy, independence, and strength.

2. sacral_chakra.jpg

The sacral chakra or Svadhisthana is located in the lumbar spine, below the navel. It is considered to be responsible for sexuality, creativity, intuitiveness, self-worth, compassion, and adaptability. The sacral chakra is associated with the Adrenal glands and regulates the immune system and metabolism. When the Sacral Chakra is imbalanced, it can make you feel emotionally and physically weak.

3. solar_chakra.jpg

The solar plexus chakra or Manipura is located three fingers above your navel. It is responsible for confidence and self-esteem, as well as helping you feel in control of your life. The solar plexus is associated with the Pancreas and regulates metabolism. Diabetes, skin diseases, cardio-vascular diseases, Gout, Arthritis, rheumatic diseases, many types of migraines, allergies and many more can trace their origin back to a lack of energy within in the Manipura chakra. 

4. heart_-_chakra.jpg

The chest chakra or Anahata is located in the centre of the chest. Anahata means “infinite” and “continuous”. It is our inner temple in which “the flame of life” or soul resides. The Anahata is associated with the Thymus gland and regulates the immune system. It is considered a link to compassion, trust, passion, and love for self and others. When Anahata Chakra is out of balance, it is believed to cause anger, lack of trust, anxiety, jealousy, fear, and moodiness.

5. throat_chakra.jpg

The throat chakra or Vishuddha is located at the base of the throat, at the center of the larynx. It is a center of physical and spiritual purification. Associated to the Thyroid gland it regulates body temperature. The throat chakra is tied to self-expression, communication, and confidence. Balancing throat chakra is believed to regulate the flow of hormones and help inner thoughts to be spoken in a positive manner. 

6. thrid_eye_chakra.jpg

The third eye or Ajna chakra is located at the upper end of the spinal column, at the point of transition from the spine to the brain. Its radiation is, however, primarily perceptible in the centre of the forehead between the eyebrows. It is associated with the Pituitary gland and produces hormones and governs the function of the previous five glands. Ajna chakra balances the physical and spiritual qualities and brings harmony to the body and mind. It is the center of perception, consciousness and intuition. 

7. crown_chakra.jpg

The crown chakra or Sahastrara is at the top of the head, the highest of the seven main chakras. Itis associated with Pineal gland and regulates biological cycles, including sleep. The crown chakra connects a person to their higher self, since it’s the place of spirituality, enlightenment, and energetic thoughts. It is tied to inner wisdom and the cosmos. When unbalanced, the crown chakra is thought to influence depression, disconnection from the outside world, frustration, and destructive emotions.

bottom of page